It is strongly recommended to delete the install folder after installation of your OpenCart store. In case you haven’t deleted the folder, OpenCart will warn you in the admin area with the message: “Warning: Install folder still exists and should be deleted for security reasons!”
Steps to delete ‘install’ folder in OpenCart
- Using a FTP client, login to your server
- Navigate to the web root, (usually /public_html or /var/www/html folders)
- Delete the folder named ‘install’ in this directory by right clicking on the folder and selecting ‘Delete’
You should delete the “install” folder for security reasons as there is a risk of it being exploited by hackers.